2013! Already?

Happy New Years according to the Gregorian calendar!

If you celebrate the Lunar New Year, Rosh Hashanah,  or Losar, you’ll just have to wait a bit longer to party.

Ooh, it is actually interesting to see all the different times when people celebrate their new year.  Yay, arbitrary measurements of time!

I am a fan of New Year’s resolutions.  They’re fun, it gives you something to think about throughout the year and on some occasions you can look back and say, “Hey, I actually followed through on that one!”  Typically, my resolutions lead to me lying around in November trying to figure out where the rest of the year went, but right now I am full of enthusiasm and snack-foods from the party I went to last night, so let’s run with that!

Here were my basic 2012 resolutions:

1) Finish first novel (including several revisions). – Does “made some serious progress” count?  I certainly haven’t done “several revisions” but the first draft far more drafted than it was at the start of 2012.
2) Become published.  – Completed!  High-fives all around.
3) Increase production of short stories. – I think I kept my average amount of stories produced per year.  I didn’t decrease, which is good, but I do have plans for upping the amount I write.
4)Read more. – Technically, yes, but I read a pathetic amount of books for someone who needs to read almost constantly for their profession.  According to Goodreads I read 15 books, which is just not enough and everyone knows it to be true.

So, what’s to be done in this New Year?  How about some fresh resolutions!  Here we go:

  1. No, seriously, read more. – I will be striving again for a minimum of 52 books read this year.  This Christmas I was fortunate enough to be given a Kindle, so I really have no excuse not to literally have a selection of books to read in my hand at any given moment.  If you’d like, you can friend me on Goodreads at the username “Muchandquick”.
  2. Participate in W1S1. to increase short story production. – There is a nifty new widget-thing on my site that leads to information about “W1S1”, which is short for “write one, sub one”.  Participants agree that they will complete a short story AND submit a short story on an either weekly or monthly basis, no excuses.  The W1S1 front page has the quote,
    “An improvementon NaNoWriMo for serious writers.”
    Jonathan Laden, Daily Science Fiction
    Which sounds pretty good to me.  It is an on-your-merit venture, where your reward in successfully participating is to reap a more productive writing schedule.  I think it sounds like fun, and I know that I perform much better when I have an established timeline.  It also provides a chance to talk to other writers about their experiences, which is always a good time.
  3. Get published in a SFWA publication, or get paid professional rates. – Self-explanatory.  My pie-in-the-sky dream would be to join SFWA this year, but I ain’t banking on it actually happening.  Still, I feel like it is a good goal to work towards.
  4. Weekly updates on this blog and my podcast reviews. – Because schedules are meant to be adhered to.
  5. Finish the damn novel.– Because I need to and that’s pretty much all there it to it at this point.

I also need to learn how to crochet better and practice the ukulele, but those are sort of auxiliary to the whole writing thing.  And I guess get back to going to the gym.  And training my cats to perform more tricks.

Do you have any resolutions for 2013?  Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

