The NaNoWriMo Aftermath

Whew! Okay, I think I finally caught my breath.

After a frantic week and a dollop of writing, I managed to win NaNoWriMo! Sound the tiniest of trumpets! Slaughter, well, not the fatted calf, that should be saved for a special occasion. Maybe put a pork tenderloin on the grill or something. So what did a month of devoted writing get me in terms of working towards a novel-length story?

I obtained:

  • Some solid worldbuilding
  • A lot of character development. The main character has gained a lot of facets and her older brother is no longer Big Mac from My Little Pony. They have motivations and flaws and stuff!
  • There is now a defined second act, which is the most difficult part for me because it is that dastardly middle ground. So far from the beginning conflict, too far from the end resolution.
  • Lots of words. I would be so bold as to say that about 45% of them are worth salvaging.

Perhaps more importantly, I realized that I am lacking:

  • A fully-fledged antagonist. By that I mean that my bad guy has not progressed to far from “Bwahaha, I am evil and will therefore oppose the antagonist because… uh, did I mention I AM EVIL?!?!” which doesn’t work that well.

That’s the worst of what I’m missing right now and is my current main focus. It is hard to focus on making the antagonist worth their weight when I am constantly distracted by the shiny protagonist, but it is fun and a challenge to think of the story from their point of view. It has forced me to realize that I sure can build myself a fine straw man for my protagonist to knock down, but it has been fun to try and create a character that can stand in someone’s way with complete conviction that what they are doing is right/profitable/worth the effort to achieve their own goals.

I want you to realize:

  • One of my cats is asleep in a spare office chair, and he is hella-cute.

 

In other news, I am going to submit another story to PodCastle (coming for you, you magnificent market!) and am currently also working on a short story about a high-school girl that has to make up extra credit for Home Economics with maaaaaagic spiiiiiices. It’s dumb and I regret nothing and it is mostly about my personal struggle to make a pan of cinnamon rolls.

I will also be hauling all of my podcast reviews from my other blog over here, as I seem to be garnering an audience! Thank you so much for reading/subscribing to this blog. I am very happy to share my writing thoughts with you and will do my best to provide delightful content. Y’all give me the honey glow somethin’ awful.

What are you working on? Did you reach your NaNoWriMo goal? What is your cat’s name? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

