Take As Needed

My computer is still in a state of disrepair. The new hard drive is installed, the BAZILLIONS of updates to the OS are up and running, and I installed FireFox so that counts for the majority of necessary fixes. However, my stupid battery backup decided to kick the bucket so it will still be a few days before Writing Base Alpha is back up to speed.

Sidenote: batter backups make me feel guilty when they die because they make those sad little beeps as they fail. Poor things.

In the meantime, please allow me to offer you some delightful links!

Crossed Genres is seeking first readers! First Readers are the front line of slush pile submissions and as such, are always in high demand so that editors can spend their time more efficiently. Sort that wheat from that chaff!

Chuck Wendig’s excellent writing blog has an excellent article on the 25 Things A Great Character Needs. I highly recommend that you give his site a looksie as it is chock-a-block full of interesting and useful thoughts on writing.

Tired of writing, thinking about writing, reading about what other people thing about writing, and need a break from the craft in general? Whenever I want to do something creative that doesn’t involve trying to write out the scenes in my head, I bake. The King Arthur Flour blog is an excellent resource for any level of baker. Baking is a great way to create something in a different way than you might, say, crochet or write or garden. I think it is a great way to clear my mind and in the end, I get something delicious to eat when I get back to writing!

What are some good sites that you think I should be looking at? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

